Falling stars.

December 10, 2011

Life.

Filed under: life,random — evaaysw93 @ 7:51 am
Tags: , ,

Suddenly felt the strong urge to blog, even though I’m in the midst of doing my finals. Three papers down, one more to go then it’s play time! 🙂

I was talking to my neighbor a while ago about life. I went out to let Shelby exercise, since she usually doesn’t have the chance to do so during the weekdays and I saw him polishing his cars. We chatted for a while, about my college life, course, his work and the usual whatnots. When we stumbled across the friendship topic, he told me this; people change. Just move on and even though they may have forgotten you, but at least you were once friends with them. Never forget who they were to you before, may they be your close pals, acquaintances or just friends.

I nodded my head, as to show him that I understood the meaning of what he said. Granted, I would have never imagined not talking to my close friends back when I was in secondary school. I got to see them 5 times a week, sharing stories and jokes, with minor fights along the way, not to piss anyone off but just for the sake of fun. We would then laugh about it and make fun of that person who got annoyed about it, and poke fun at people, making them ‘learn’ about things they did not know about. Oh well, the humor of a bunch of 17-year-olds are very much known by everyone, right? The dirty jokes, and the immaturity of single people poking fun at those who were in a relationship, who brushed them off as easily as brushing dust off their clothes and laughed along with them. Yes, those were the best times in school and we said that we would never, ever stopped talking like that to each other.

Sooner or later, one by one stopped talking to each other. The noisy ones still talked to each other, but the quiet ones mixed with themselves and ignored the noisy ones, thus sort of segregating the classmates. Although we do arrange for outings together, but many failed to show up due to wrong timings, or the laziness they felt inside. After all, why bother to go out when you can create a group and chat with the members inside it? But, deep down inside, we all changed slowly. At first, it was those who entered college earlier. After a few months of talking and spamming the other ex-classmates, they soon stopped because of their exams. Then, they seldom kept in touch because they were too preoccupied with their lives. The rest followed suit, but we still arranged outings and whatnots just to see each other physically and commemorate the memories we had in class last year.

Funny thing about us people, we do change. Heck, the world is changing, in ways we ourselves can never dream of. The polar bears in the north are dying due to global warming. The ice bergs are breaking, and recently a huge piece of ice berg was found floating near Australia. That incident was certainly not anticipated by many people, even the scientists. The world is getting hotter, and many are falling sick due to the weather. We once said to go green but I don’t see many trying. Yes, I do see some people bringing their own bags when they do their grocery shopping at the markets, but not many do that. Only about 1 in about 5 people would do that. I myself bring my own bag out, no matter what day it is. If I forgot, I just stuff the small items into my handbag and if needed, I would ask for a plastic bag to place the bigger items in it. I then use the plastic as my rubbish bin’s plastic bag to cut down on the usage of plastic. We all know, that even though the world was as perfect as we envisioned it to be like, but deep down inside, the desire of men cannot be really and truly be filled to the brim. 50 years ago, the world had more flora and fauna compared to now. The reason? Men wanted to commercialize their companies, and build better homes and to also make people’s lives better. Not to say that I do not support that, I really do, but now when you look at it, deforestation is one of the world’s biggest problems. Many are choosing to recycle rather than not to, just to save the Earth. If we really do carry on with activities that not only would destroy Mother Nature, we would only bring disaster to ourselves. The question now is; how long would it take for us to self-destruct?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

